Story a day: 2.1.16

I am going to spend the entire month of February pounding at one of my weaknesses: poetry. I’ll give myself up to two freestyle days, but I want to spend the next 29 days writing passable poetry with defined forms and rhyme schemes and such.

Prompt: Today’s format is tanka. Partly, I’m choosing it because it’s simple and short (and therefore a good place to start). Partly, I’m choosing it because it was apparently used for “The Tale of Genji,” considered the first “novel” ever written. Which bolsters my argument that getting better at poetry can only help my other writing.

It is generally 5/7/5/7/7 (syllables – 31 syllables total).

A glowing bright square
of warmth splashes the carpet.
He occupies space,
takes his place on that warm throne.
We see who is master now.

Leave a Reply

