Story a day: 2.11.16

Prompt: Today’s form is ghazal.

Syntactically and grammatically complete couplets. The final word of both lines is the same. The rhyme occurs in the word before the last word. The last couplet includes a proper name. Ghazals originally dealt with loss or romantic love, but I may give myself some leeway on the theme.

I love nothing as much as I love food
I dream of nothing as I dream of food

It sings its way into my bowl like buttery bells
I rush toward that music as I would to supper bells

In repose I enjoy the spoils of the journey
Crumbs mark the end of my paws’ weary journey

I am Manzoku-san and I like to eat
If you aren’t careful, I’ll steal what you eat!

Leave a Reply

