Story a day: 3.11.16

Prompt: This one from WritersDigest.

We’d been fighting for weeks. I punched the wall in frustration after she left. The next days were spent staring at the jagged edges of mangled flower-covered wallpaper.

I’d always thought it was gaudy. I picked at the edges of the wallpaper. She wouldn’t care anymore. Why did I have to continue living with the stuff?

Strip by strip, I peeled away the wallpaper. But I did not find wall on the other side. Rather, as the scraps of flowery wallpaper fell away, trees and mountains emerged. Instead of a stark barrier, a firm ending, I found a lush and flourishing beginning.

Leave a Reply

