Story a day: 5.25.16

“Where are we going?” I asked.

“Hush,” Mother said.

She handed me a bundle before tying sacks around her waist and onto her back. Father came in with more bundles strapped to him and waved for us to follow.

Mother took my hand and we rushed out of our house. I looked back at our little home as we walked away from it. The sky was turning pink behind it.

“Where are we going?” I asked again.

Mother didn’t answer. Father was already far ahead. The rest of the village lay quiet. More than quiet. Hollow.

“Mama.”

“Hush,” she said. “We’re leaving. Don’t look back.” She tugged my hand harder.

Leave a Reply

