Story a day: 6.17.16

“He’s just a man,” I said. “That’s how I live with myself.”

The man sitting across from me frowned at the game tiles, not looking at me as he selected a piece and placed it on the board. “What about his witch?”

I sighed. “You actually believe that? I thought more highly of you.”

He still did not look at me. “Even if he’s not… what they say, the things he’s done. The things you’ve done, now…”

This time I was the one looking away, studying game tiles with unseeing eyes. I played a piece.

“You’re surrounded,” he said. “You lose.”

I shrugged. “So it must be.”

Leave a Reply

