Story a day: 6.24.16

I left the window open and awaited the assassin. They called themselves spies, but everyone knew what they really were.

I took my breaths slowly, trying to hang on to the moment. How much longer would I get to breathe in the breeze off the gulf? I’d put this window here when building my house so I would face the gulf first thing in the morning and see it as I fell asleep to the sound of the water lapping against the city. It would remain long after the assassin came for me.

I watched the moon waver on the water and waited.

Leave a Reply

