WAW: I don’t wanna

Writing About Writing: A once-a-week post about some aspect of writing. I’m not an expert; I’m just some guy. Take it with a grain of salt.


Sometimes I don’t want to write.

I’m not busy. I’m not stressed out. I have the time. I’m at my computer. I have absolutely zero excuses. And I simply don’t want to.

I said it last week, but I’ll say it again: writing isn’t magic. I have a lot of hobbies and interests and writing is among them. But like anything else, sometimes I’m not all that into it. Writing isn’t a magical goblet I drink from each morning to sustain myself. It’s more like a close friend, someone I spend a lot of time with and love dearly. But everyone needs time apart.

I think sometimes creative people feel like they must always be creating or they’re failing in some way. But that’s an unreasonable thing to ask of yourself or anyone else. Sometimes, you just want to play video games or read a book or, hell, do nothing at all.

The key is balance. Sometimes me and writing will spend time apart, but if I never go back or get too complacent without her, I could lose her. I have to maintain that friendship without smothering it, just as I would with a real person.

Resources: None!

Leave a Reply

