Story a day: 12.23.16

“You don’t look like you climb mountains.”

Perhaps I look like I sew all day. Perhaps I look like I spend my time choosing socks to match my bras. Maybe I look to you like the sort of person who spends time choosing nail polishes and eyeliners and who cares deeply about the difference between sky blue and just blue.

Or maybe it’s something else. Maybe I look like I chain smoke and go to rock concerts. Maybe I look like I had a lesbian phase in college. Perhaps I project the image of a person who has issues with her father and shaved the side of her head for that reason.

But what I don’t look like, what I certainly don’t look like, is someone who climbs.

Does that make you more comfortable?

Leave a Reply

