Monday Story: Super Something

But then, we were still young and believed superpowers were meant for peace and justice back then.

The disillusionment came swiftly.

I could manipulate water. Not in the way you’re thinking. Water in the air, microscopic droplets. It’s hard to describe because I never had to describe it to myself. I just did it. For as long as I could remember. I could run my hands through the air like I was combing a lover’s hair. I’d feel all those tiny bits of water; they shivered and hummed like they were waiting to be told what to do. And that’s what I did – I told them what to do. Freeze, rain, dry up, go this way or that way, gather together or fly apart. That’s what I could do. Not that great, until they taught me how to use it.

Leave a Reply

