WAW: I Don’t Know What to Write

Writing About Writing: A once-a-week post about some aspect of writing. I’m not an expert; I’m just some guy. Take it with a grain of salt.


This one hits close to home.

I don’t know what to write.

I don’t know where to go with the story I’m working on. I don’t know what to make this post about. I literally wrote about nothing yesterday.

What To Do When You’ve Got Nothing

Sometimes, this just happens. Life, stress, distraction. Whatever it is, it dries up the writing well, leaving nothing but dust.

My preferred method of dealing with the drought is to just punch my way through it. Write anyway. Write crap.Who cares? At best, you’ll get something surprisingly good. At worst, you’ll get more than nothing.

But I Have No Ideas

Then write this stuff:

  • Lists
  • Stream of consciousness
  • Someone else’s story/book/poem (copying others’ work – not to publish, but to learn – is a real thing)

It’s still more than nothing.

Resources:

Leave a Reply

