WAW: Is It Real?

Writing About Writing: A once-a-week post about some aspect of writing. I’m not an expert; I’m just some guy. Take it with a grain of salt.


Last night, I was, for whatever reason, wondering when stories and characters and fiction become real, if ever.

This doesn’t have much to do with craft

I’m just musing this week.

But, seriously, when does fiction cross over into reality? When does it not matter anymore that, say, Harry Potter isn’t a tangible person? He’s had more impact than many tangible people. So is he real? Does the fact that there are tangible buildings and hats and games and things in the world  with his name on them make a figment of J.K. Rowling’s imagination into a real thing?

I decided that at least for me (for now), fiction is effectively real. Meaning, Harry Potter doesn’t need to be a human I can touch because he still has an impact on my reality.

Why Bother?

Reasonable question. I was thinking about it in the context of things I’ve written and created, fictions that will likely never see the light of day but which have had huge impacts on my real life. Do those things matter? Are those things real? They’ll never be Harry Potter, so does that mean they aren’t real at all? Or are there degrees of realness and they’re just at the low end of the scale?

I suppose I think that fictions I’ve created are as real for me as Harry Potter is for other people. They’ve hugely impacted my life, even though they live only in my own head.

Your Real Matters

I think what’s real for me matters for me. What’s real for you matters for you. Whether or not those things are tangible – or even whether they’re real for anyone else – doesn’t matter as much, or perhaps at all.

What I’m trying to say is, no matter what level of skill or recognition you’ve obtained, your fiction is important, if only because it matters to you. So don’t belittle yourself or what you create. It matters, at least to you.

Resources:

None. Just had some weird thoughts to share 🙂

Leave a Reply

