WAW: Read Everything

Writing About Writing: A once-a-week post about some aspect of writing. I’m not an expert; I’m just some guy. Take it with a grain of salt.


I am almost never reading only one book. My current reading list includes a novel, a daily newspaper, a few comic books and a novel in a different language.

I used to get a little down on myself about reading too many things all at once, but I’ve come to realize that’s just what I like to do. It doesn’t confuse or demotivate me and the things I read tend to compliment each other (in my mind). I can’t sit still and watch a movie or TV show while doing nothing else, so why should I expect to do nothing but read a single book?

This will be a short post, but I was thinking about this today, while switching between fiction and journalism during my lunch break. Maybe I’m just a product of my generation, a stereotypical millennial with the attention span of a goldfish. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s fine to read however you happen to read.

Resources:

Some weird and interesting research on this topic:

Leave a Reply

