WAW: Got the fire?

Writing About Writing: A once-a-week post about some aspect of writing. I’m not an expert; I’m just some guy. Take it with a grain of salt.


I totally wrote a post yesterday and due to … internet troubles … I wasn’t able to post it. So here it is.

When I was a kid and teenager, I was obsessed with writing. I stayed up late to write; I woke up early to write. I wrote in school during classes. I wrote every second of every day during summer vacation. I threw a fit when I had to leave the house and go to a party or event or fun day at the beach because it took me away from writing.

It was all I wanted all day, every day.

As an adult, I often wonder what happened to that fire. It wasn’t fickle; it consumed a solid two decades with steady intensity.

So where’d it go? Maybe it’s because it became my job. Maybe I’m just old and distracted and busy. But I know the kid who worked that hard for that long on this one all-consuming thing – well, frankly, she’s pretty disappointed.

Resources:

None. Go build your fires where you can.

 

Leave a Reply

